Return to Headlines

Connor Schmidt to Attend Horatio Alger National Scholars Conference in Washington D.C.

Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans, Inc., a non-profit educational organization honoring the achievements of outstanding individuals and encouraging youth to pursue their dreams through higher education, announced the 106 recipients of its prestigious 2020 Horatio Alger National Scholarship. The students selected had overcome significant obstacles, demonstrate positivity and unwavering determination.


Eudora High School senior Connor Schmidt was among the students selected to win a $25,000 scholarship. In addition to the scholarship, each National Scholar will receive an all-expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C., on April 2-4, 2020, to attend the Horatio Alger National Scholars Conference (NSC) and participate in college preparedness and other educational sessions.


While in Washington D.C., Horatio Alger Scholars will have an opportunity to learn about the Association, its esteemed members, and the various support programs in which they can partake during their collegiate careers. In conjunction with the NSC, National Scholars will also be recognized at the Association’s 73rd Horatio Alger Award Induction Ceremonies, during which the Association will induct 14 distinguished New Members including: 

-Stedman Graham, chairman, and CEO, Graham & Associates.

-Robert A. McDonald, 8th Secretary of the Department of Veterans Affairs and -Retired Chairman, President, and CEO, The Procter & Gamble Company

-Jane Seymour, actress, artist, producer, and philanthropist; 


All new members are accomplished corporate, civic, and cultural leaders. The Horatio Alger National Scholarship Program and National Scholars Conference are funded through private donations from Association Members and friends.